Vermont's Covered Bridges
Covered Bridges - These bridges are near the inn and we are in the
process of developing a map for our guests.
Covered bridges symbolize small-town America. Something from
century, picturesque and sentimental, "kissing bridges" or
"courting bridges" recall a time when life was simpler. Join us as
we explore some of the 106 covered bridges that dot the Vermont countryside.
If you're wondering why they're called "kissing bridges", in
horse and buggy days, young lovers took advantage of the privacy to steal a
kiss, thus causing the old covered bridges to be known as 'kissing' bridges. A
slow horse, a long bridge, and a willing girl could produce two kisses.
Wow times have changed!
These bridges served other purposes as well. The trout fisherman looked to
the pool under the bridge for a good catch; the small boys enjoyed the pool as
a swimming hole that was sheltered where they could splash without worry of a
Although covered bridges are not unique to Vermont, Yankee ingenuity came
to the fore regarding their uses. At times, they were used as a drill floor
for the militia camp meetings, in case of rain. The latticework of the bridges
made an excellent hiding place for weapons. How many bottles of bootleg
whiskey lay undetected by customs agents in Prohibition days?
This list of nearby bridges gives locations, information on the common name,
date of construction where possible. Also, truss type, length, span, and
builder information is provided for each bridge. Some of this information was
compiled by Mr. Neal G. Templeton of the First Vermont Bank and Trust Company
and presented in a publication printed by the Bank and no longer available in
print. We intend to add information and pictures as well as create an
elaborate map of our areas covered bridges for your guests use.
BROWNSVILLE -- located on Route 44..Three bridges are located in the
town of Brownsville. Two, the Best and Twigg-Smith Bridges, are
located alongside Rt 44 and the third, Bowers Bridge, is on Bible Hill
BESTS - built in 1890, a 37 foot Tied Arch style bridge built by A. W.
Swallows to cross the Mill Brook. The 1880 Town Report shows the bridge cost
$250.13 to construct.
TWIGG-SMITH - built in 1973, this 36 foot bridge of Town Lattice style was
constructed by H. P. Cummings Construction and crosses the Mill Brook. This is
one half of the Garfield Bridge of Hyde Park, built in 1870 and removed in the
1960ís and relocated here.
BOWERS - Date unknown, this 48 foot tied arch bridge was constructed by an
unknown party and is located on Mill Brook-North off Rt 44.
CHESTER/BARTONVILLE -- located off Rt 103 South ..Two bridges are located in
Bartonsville, the Worralls and Bartonsville both are just off
Route 103, one half mile.
WORRALLS - built in 1868 and owned by the Town. An 87 foot Town Lattice bridge
constructed by Sanford Granger crosses the Williams River E. off Rt. 103. The
bridge has an unusual wooden ramp to the roadway on the west end.
BARTONSVILLE - built in 1870 with a 151 foot span this Town Lattice style
bridge was constructed by Sanford Granger and crosses the Williams River.
GRAFTON, on Rt 35 -- Two bridges are located in the village. The Kidder
Hill Bridge is on Water Street S. off Rt. 121 in the center of town. The
Cheese Company Bridge is on Townsend Rd.
KIDDER - build in 1870 with a span of 37 feet this King Post design was
constructed by an unknown party.
CHEESE - built in 1967 with a span of 57 feet this Stringer design constructed
by S. MacMillan. On South Branch of the Saxtons River west of the village on
Townsend Rd. Not a true covered bridge but picturesque.
SPRINGFIELD, on Rt 106 just North of exit 7, I-91..The Baltimore Bridge,
a town lattice type built by Granville Leland, is located beside Eureka School
House, N. Rt. 106. This is a Vermont Historic site, relocated and restored in
1970 by Milton Graton & Sons.
AMSDEN, off Rt 131..The Salmond Bridge build 1880 Est 54 feet in
length of multiple kingpost design and constructed by James F. Trasker. Bridge
located of Rt 131 just west of the village of Amsden.
WINDSOR - CORNISH, E of Route 5..The longest covered bride still in daily
service. The Windsor- Cornish Bridge connects the two towns across the
Connecticut River. Owned and maintained by State of New Hampshire.
PERKINSVILLE, located on Rt 106...Downers Bridge established 1840. This
bridge is of the town lattice type, 80 feet long, crosses the Black River W.
of Junction Rt. 106 and Rt. 44. Builder unknown. Bridge was restored in 1975,
1976 by Milton Graton & Sons.
TITCOMB Bridge, privately owned was built in 1880 by Henry & James Tasker
E. off Rt. 106. It is of the multiple kingpost type, 46.6 feet long.
Originally the Stoughton Bridge, it was removed in 1959 and restored in 1963
by Andrew A. Titcomb, the present owner.